Sun, 04 Jun 2023

3-time winner Connor McDavid leads Ted Lindsay Award finalists

Field Level Media
14 May 2022, 01:19 GMT+10

Edmonton Oilers forward Connor McDavid, Toronto Maple Leafs forward Auston Matthews and Nashville Predators defenseman Roman Josi were named the finalists for the 2021-22 Ted Lindsay Award on Thursday.

The award, formerly known as the Lester B. Pearson Award, is presented annually to the most outstanding player in the league as voted by the members of the NHL Players' Association. The winner will be announced during the Stanley Cup playoffs.

McDavid is a three-time winner of the award (2016-17, 2017-18 and 2020-21), while Matthews was a finalist last season and Josi is a first-time finalist.

McDavid, 25, led the NHL with a career-high 123 points (44 goals, 79 assists) in 80 games this season. The only players to win the award more than three times are Wayne Gretzky (five) and Mario Lemieux (four).

Matthews, 24, posted a career-high 106 points (60 goals, 46 assists) in 73 games. He became the 21st different player in NHL history -- first in a decade -- to register 60 goals in a season.

Josi, 31, set a franchise record with 96 points (23 goals, 73 assists) in 80 games. He is looking to become the first defenseman since Boston's Bobby Orr (1974-75) to win the Ted Lindsay Award.

--Field Level Media

More Italy News

Access More

Sign up for The Italy News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!