Sat, 29 Jan 2022

Italy Imposes Entry Ban on Eight Southern African States

Voice of America
27 Nov 2021, 04:05 GMT+10

Italy imposed an entry ban Friday on people who have visited any one of eight southern African states in the last 14 days, because of the spread of a new COVID-19 variant there.

Italian Health Minister Roberto Speranza signed an executive order banning entry of travelers from South Africa, Lesotho, Botswana, Malawi, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia and Eswatini.

'Our scientists are studying the new B.1.1.529 variant. In the meantime, we will adopt the greatest possible caution,' Speranza said.

More Italy News

Access More

Sign up for The Italy News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!